Esa-Pekka’s Verse

From, “Esa-Pekka releases “The Orchestra” for iPad today along with co-conspirators the Philharmonia, Rite Digital, Music Sales and Touch Press.

The Orchestra is an interactive exploration of orchestral music and instruments gives users an unprecedented view of how classical music is made. The app features excerpts from Haydn’s Symphony No. 6, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5, Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, Debussy’s Prélude à l’après midi d’un faune, Mahler’s Symphony No. 6, Stravinsky’s The Firebird, Lutosławski’s Concerto for Orchestra, and Salonen’s own Violin Concerto, featuring violinist Leila Josefowicz.

The Orchestra features high quality films of eight performances viewed from the perspective from the conductor and from the most active players and instrumental sections in each piece. While watching this video, users can see the full score, a condensed score curated by Salonen, or a simplified score. In addition, a BeatMap highlights the active instrumental sections note-by-note.”

To find out more about this app, click here.


, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.